Graphic Novel Friday: Kate Beaton’s Hark! A Vagrant

From Sarah: Since I am a graphic novels fan and am trying to introduce the genre to our readers at Park Road Books, I’ve decided to institute “Graphic Novel Friday.” Each Friday their will be a new installment featuring a graphic novel review of either a new title or a favorite oldie of mine.

I have already introduced you to Ghost World, which I hope you have taken a look at. This week, I thought I would review something a little different. Not so much a novel, more like a a series of short stories, graphic novel style. What started off as a blog, turned into a hilarious collection call Hark! A Vagrant by artist Kate Beaton. A history buff and bibliophile, Kate decided to turn her degree in history into something useful, a comic strip. Filled with historical references, political satire, and literary humor, Hark! A Vagrant is perfect for the bibliophile or history lover in your life.

My favorite series of hers is about the Brontë sisters, one in particular is entitled “Dude Watchin’ with the Brontës.” I suggest you check our her website if you want to check her out or if after you’ve bought the book, you just can’t get enough! This book was actually given to me as a present when I moved and now is a regular on my coffee table.

Click here to reserve/order a copy.